Letterhead Image


January 9, 2017

Joshua Fleitman: (Office) 202-724-8191, (Mobile) 202-294-2506, jfleitman@dccouncil.us 

Councilmember Todd Introduces Bill To Strengthen
Car Safety Requirements For Young Children

Washington, DC – Today, Councilmember Brandon Todd (D-Ward 4) introduced legislation that would strengthen automobile safety requirements for young children under two years old.

The “Rear Facing Car Seat Safety Amendment Act of 2018” requires that children under two years of age be restrained in a rear facing car seat. This would bring District law into alignment with the findings of the American Academy of Pediatrics and the Centers for Disease Control – that children under two are less likely to be severely injured when riding in a rear facing car seat than a front facing car seat. Proper use of car seats cuts the risk of death by 71% for infants and 54% for toddlers between the ages of 1 and 4. California, Connecticut, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and South Carolina have all passed similar laws.

“When it comes to matters of life and death, especially regarding our smallest and most vulnerable residents, we cannot take any chances,” said Councilmember Todd. “With car accidents a leading cause of death among children in the United States, and between 7,500 and 8,500 Washingtonians being injured in car accidents each year, this measure is needed now more than ever, especially as the District moves towards its Vision Zero goal of zero transportation-related fatalities by 2024. I call upon the District to enact this commonsense safety measure.”


Social Media:
Councilmember Todd Twitter: @CMBrandonTodd
Councilmember Todd Facebook: facebook.com/brandonttodd
Councilmember Todd Instagram: instagram.com/brandonttodd
Councilmember Todd Website: brandontoddward4.com

About Ward 4 Councilmember Brandon T. Todd

Councilmember Brandon T. Todd (D-Ward 4) is a native Washingtonian and lifelong public servant. He was elected to be the Ward 4 Councilmember on April 28, 2015 in a special election, and re-elected to a full four year term on November 8, 2016. He serves as Chairman of the DC Council Committee on Government Operations, Vice-Chair of the Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Committee, and is a member of the National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board.